Egremont, Carmarthenshire Genealogy
A guide to genealogy in Egremont, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
EGERMONT, otherwise EGREMONT, a parish, in the union of NARBERTH, lower division of the hundred of DERLLYS, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 5 mile (N. by W.) from Narberth. This parish, which borders on the county of Pembroke, and is pleasantly situated on the eastern branch of the river Cleddau, is about two miles and a half in length, and, in the widest part, about two miles in breadth; the surrounding scenery, though pleasantly varied, is not distinguished by any particularity of feature. Stone of very good quality for building is found, and some quarries are worked. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, was rebuilt in 1839, in a plain, but neat style. There are some vestiges of an ancient encampment on an elevation above the church; and a stone, with an inscription in very rude characters, WANTACUS, witth a cross heading; it was found in the churchyard, and is now in the western pew-end of the church. The word MANTACUS above, and the Latin word "Agger", a head of stones or earth, appicable to the ancient encampment, may account for the etymology of "Egger-mount".
For more information on Egremont see Egremont at Genuki.
|before 31 March 1974||Carmarthenshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Carmarthenshire|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464309.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Egremont at Vision of Britain.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 14 January 2014.