Egypt Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Egypt)
Jump to: navigation, search

Middle East Gotoarrow.png Egypt

Egypt Wiki Topics
Flag of Egypt.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Egypt Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Egypt ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Egypt is a country in Africa bordered by Israel, Sudan, and Libya. It was formerly ruled by the Ottoman Empire and Great Britain. The official language is Arabic.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Egypt Research

Links to articles on getting started with Egypt research.

Egypt Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Egypt research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Egypt Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Egypt.

Egypt governates.png

1. Matrouh
2. Alexandria
3. Beheira
4. Kafr el-Sheikh
5. Dakahlia
6. Damietta
7. Port Said
8. North Sinai
9. Gharbia
10. Monufia
11. Qalyubia
12. Al Sharqia
13. Ismailia
14. Giza
15. Faiyum
16. Cairo
17. Suez
18. South Sinai
19. Beni Suef
20. Minya
21. New Valley
22. Asyut
23. Red Sea
24. Sohag
25. Qena
26. Luxor
27. Aswan


Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Egypt. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

There are 26 governorates (muhafazat, singular - muhafazah).

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Egypt," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,, accessed 2 May 2016.