El Salvador Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from El Salvador)
Jump to: navigation, search

Central AmericaGotoarrow.pngEl Salvador

El Salvador Research Topics
Sv-flag.JPG
Beginning Research
Record Types
El Salvador Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for El Salvador is Dwsmith2


Guide to El Salvador ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

El Salvador is a country in Central America bordered by Guatemala and Honduras. It was formerly a colony of Spain. The official language is Spanish.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with El Salvador Research

Links to articles on getting started with El Salvador research.

El Salvador Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in El Salvador research.


{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

El Salvador Map

Un-el-salvador.png

States

Department names and abbreviations for the 14 Salvadoran Departments:

  • #AH - Ahuachapán
  • #CA - Cabañas
  • #CH - Chalatenango
  • #CU - Cuscatlán
  • #LI   - La Libertad
  • #PA - La Paz
  • #UN - La Unión
  • #MO - Morazán
  • #SM - San Miguel
  • #SS - San Salvador
  • #SV - San Vicente
  • #SA - Santa Ana
  • #SO - Sonsonate
  • #US - Usulután

Civil Registration

Online Civil Registration Records

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Spain," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spain, accessed 24 March 2016.