Elgg parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich DübendGotoarrow.png Elgg parish

Guide to Elgg parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

The church parish of Elgg includes the villages of Schneittal and Kappel, which are part of the civil parish of Hagenbuch, and the villages of Gündlikon and Zünikon, which were part of the now-defunct civil parish of Bertschikon bei Attikon.

Place Names

Locations within Elgg

Aadorferfeld
Aatal
Alte Sennhütte
Baumgarten
Berg
Berghof
Birmenstal
Breite
Bruggwingert
Buchenhof
Büechlerhof
Bühl
Burghof
Dickbuch
Diener
Einheldi
Elgg
Ettenbühl
Fahrenhof
Feldheim
Freihof

Geissbühl
Geretswil
Giesental
Glashütte
Gündlikon
Guwilmühle
* Haggenberg
Haggenbergstrasse
Haldenhof
Herten
Heurüti
Hofstetten
Hohbühl
Hohrain
Hohlengas
Horben
Huggenberg
Hüttstall
Jakobstal
Kappel
Kellerhof

Landenhof
Langfurri
Mittler-Schneit
Morgental
Neubruch
Heuhof
Niederfeld
Ober-Hagenstall
Oberhof
Obermühle
Ober-Schneit
Rappenstein
Rehweid
Riethof
Ristall
Römerhof
Rosenberg
Scheunberg
Schloss Elgg
Schneitberg
Sennhof

Sommersbaumgarten
Sonnenhof
Sonnental
Steig
Stoss
Stutz
Talwieshof
Tiefenau
Tiefenstein
Unterer Ettenbühl
Unter-Hagenstall
Unter-Hüttstall
Untermühle
Unter-Schneit
Waldhof
Weidhof
Wenzikon
Wiesengrund
Wiesental
Zünikon

Haggenberg belongs to the church parish of Aadorf.

Surrounding Parishes

Aadorf (Thurgau)
Aawangen (Thurgau)
Bichelsee (Thurgau)
Elsau
Gachnang (Thurgau)
Schlatt
Turbenthal
Wiesendangen

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Elgg:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 3 3
1637 1185142 1 1
1640 1185143 2 667
1643 1185146 1 627
1646 1185148 1 247
1649 1185149 1 735
1657 1185179 1 55
1663 1185179 2 273
1671 1185154 1 489
1678 1185157 1 907
1682 1185160 3 115
1688 1185162 1 693
1694 1185166 2 265
1709 1185170 1 487
1722 1185175 1 1
1763 1185175 1 109

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Elgg families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Elgg prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland