Elmersthorpe, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Parishes

Guide to Elmersthorpe, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Elmersthorpe, Leicestershire
St Mary Elmesthorpe Leicestershire.jpg
St Mary Elmesthorpe Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sparkenhoe
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Hinckley
Registration District Hinckley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1869
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparkenhoe
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

ELMSTHORPE, a parish in Hinckley district, Leicester; on the Leicester and Nuneaton railway, 3 miles NE by E of Hinckley. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: It is advisable to consult Barwell, Leicestershire records also. Elmesthorpe Bap 1869 - 1980  Marr 1872 - 1983

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438748.


Poor Law Unions

Hinckley Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date accessed: 29 July 2013.