Elmstead, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Elmstead, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Elmstead St. Anne and St. Laurence Essex
|Poor Law Union||Tendring|
|Parish registers: 1557|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1802|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Elmstead, is a village and a parish in Tendring district, Essex. The village stands near the Roman Stone street, it is 2 3/4 miles SSE of Ardleigh railway station, and 4 miles E by N of Colchester. 
Elmstead Market St Anne and St Laurence is an Ancient parish in the county of Essex. Prior to 1845 it was in the diocese of London subsequently the diocese of Rochester.
Elmstead Market is a villageand civil parish which for local government purposes is in the Tendring district of Essex. It lies 3 km northeast of Wivenhoe and 6 km east of Colchester. It is on the A133 road which until a few years ago was the main road to Clacton, Frinton and Harwich. The A120 road constructed to bypass Colchester and Elmstead Market has reduced the volume of through traffic considerably.
The internationally acclaimed Beth Chatto gardens are within the village boundaries.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Elmstead, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Elmstead, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Reform
Elmstead Heath Methodist Church records are kept at the Essex Record Office.
1841 Census returns for Elmstead are missing.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 207428.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
Elmstead on GENUKI
- John M. Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, 1870. Adapted: Date accessed 21 May 2013.
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
- Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
- Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 4 September 2014.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.