Eltisleye, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Eltisleye, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Caxton|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Eltisleye, is a parish in Caxton district, Cambridge; contiguous with Huntingdonshire, 2½ miles WNW of Caxton, and 5¾ miles N of Gamlingay railway station. The post town is, Caxton, under Royston. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Eltisleye, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free|
|Eltisleye, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Parish registers for Eltisley, 1653-1949 at FHL
Bishop's transcripts of Eltisley, Cambridgeshire, 1599-1867 at FHL. This microfilm has been digitised.
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241223.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Eltisleye on GENUKI