Elton, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Elton, Durham)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Elton, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Elton, Durham
Elton St John Co Durham.jpg
Elton St John Co Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Stockton
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

ELTON, a parish, in the union of Stockton, S. W. division of Stockton ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 3 miles (W. S. W.) from Stockton. [1]

Additional information: Elton St John is an AncientParish and its current church was built in 1840 to replace the previous church on the same site.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/99 1762-1838 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1539-2000 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Elt).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

None

Census records

  • According to Genuki.org.uk "The number of inhabitants in 1801 was 78; in 1811, 76; in 1821, 105; in 1831, 103; in 1841, 92; in 1851, 84; in 1861, 108; in 1871, 90; in 1881, 113; and in 1891 it was 106." Taken from: [History, Topography and Directory of Durham, Whellan , London, 1894]
  • 1851 Census by the Cleveland Family History Society is available on FHL Film # 1519258 Item 1

Poor Law Unions

Stockton Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Elton on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.