Enköping parish, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Enköping parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Back to Sweden►
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Collections
- 3.1 Census Records
- 3.2 Church Records
- 3.3 Military Records
- 3.4 Related Sources
- 3.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 3.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 3.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 3.8 References
This parish broke off of Vårfrukyrka in about 1300 and was called Sankt Ilian. Shortly after another parish was broke off from this one and was called Sankt Olof.
Sankt Ilian was renamed in 1548 and called Enköping. In 1548 Sankt Olof dissolved as the parish was recombined with Enköping.
|Stift||Uppsala ärkestift, 1989- Uppsala|
|Pastorat||-1967 Enköping and Vårfrukyrka, 1968- Enköping|
|Tingslag||-1962 Enköpings stad (under rådhusrätten), 1963-1970 Trögd|
|Domsaga||-1962 Enköpings stad (under rådhusrätten), 1963-1980 Uppsala läns södra, 1980- Enköping|
|Fögderi||-1946 Enköpings stad (under uppbördsväsendet), 1946-1966 Trögd, 1967- Enköping|
|Länsmansdistrikt||-1917 Enköpings stad (under polisåklagar-, and utsökningsväsendet)|
|Kommun||-1970 Enköpings stad, 1971- Enköping|
|Militär indelning||Uplands Regemente: Enköpings Kompani, Extra Soldat-Roteringen|
|NAD Ref Code||SE/ULA/10206|
Enköping was divided into various districts (rotar). Each district (rote) was divided into sections (qvarter) and each "qvarter" was given a number.
- Surrounding Parishes
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR ($).
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Uppsala Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Uppsala and then select your parish.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! The have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
Riksarkivet. "Enköping Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/
Skatteverket. "Enköping." Förteckning (Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna). March 2011 Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna
Enköping (Sankt Illian), Husförhörslängd 1838-1842, Ortregister