Epworth, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Epworth, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Epworth, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Epworth, Lincolnshire
Epworth St Andrew North Lincolnshire.JPG
Epworth St Andrew North Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manley
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Thorne
Registration District Thorne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Corringham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

EPWORTH (St. Andrew), a market-town and parish, in the union of Thorne, W. division of the wapentake of Manley, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 28¾ miles (N. W. by N.) from Lincoln, and 157¾ (N. by W.) from London.[1]

The church dates from the 12th century in part and the remainder from 14th and 15th century extensions. The chancel was partly destroyed in the 17th century and restored in 1868 by James Fowler of Louth. It has been designated as a grade I listed building by English Heritage.

Epworth is a town and civil parish in the Isle of Axholme in North Lincolnshire, noted for being the birthplace of John Wesley and Charles Wesley, it has given its name to many institutions associated with Methodism. Their father, Samuel Wesley, was the rector from 1695 to 1735.

A statue commemorating John Wesley stands on Albion Hill close to the Old Rectory which is open to the public Epworth Old Rectory


Civil Registration

This parish was in the Epworth sub-district of Thorne(Yorkshire) registration district.Thorne registration district

Registers are now held at North Lincolnshire
The Register Office
92 Oswald Road
DN15 7PA
01724 843915. registrars@northlincs.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Epworth Par 1 will identify available images.The loss of earlier registers prior to 1710 were fire damaged.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Epworth

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438763.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Thorne Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.




  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 177-181. Date accessed: 17 August 2013.