Eston, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Eston, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Eston

Guide to Eston, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eston, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langbaurgh
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Guisborough
Registration District Guisbrough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1590
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stokesley
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

Eston in Cleveland  All Saints Ecclesiastical Parish was created in 1772 from chapelry in Ormesby, Yorkshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Normanby near Guisbrough and Normanby.

ESTON-in-Cleveland, a chapelry, in the parish of Ormesby, union of Guisborough, E. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York, 5½ miles (W. N. W.) from Guisborough; containing 285 inhabitants.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Eston exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS =
JOIN = - (£)
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
ESTON CHAPELRY (1590) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1590-1878 1590-1878 1591-1879 1591-1879 1590-1837 1590-1837
FS 1590-1812







For a full list of all those chapels comprising the whole ancient parish of Ormsby to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ORMSBY PARISH page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464233.

Poor Law Unions

Guisborough Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 186-191. Adapted; Date accessed: 27 September 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (North Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.