Etne, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Etne, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Hordaland County
Etne


Guide to Etne, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Etne clerical district) contains the parish registers for the parishes Støle, Grindheim, and Gjerde in Etne clerical district. Records available from 1715-1924.


Images of digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Etne: 1715-1755, 1782-1922

Etne/Gjerde: 1755-1782, 1815-1921

Etne/Grindheim: 1755-1782, 1816-1841, 1851-1820

Etne/Stødle: 1755-1782, 1815-1849, 1851-1924

Census Records

  • 1664-1666 Census Fogdens og sorenskriverens manntall Søndhordland fogderi Etne skibrede. Etne clerical district included Etne, Grinheim, Støle and Gjerde parishes. This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 122979 Item 4 and online at Digitalarkivet as scanned images.
  • 1664-1666 Census Sogneprestenes manntall Sundhordland Prosti Etne clerical district includedEtne, Grinheim, Støle and Gjerde parishes. This census was taken by the local parish priests. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 122971 Item 3 and online at Digitalarkivet as scanned images.
  • 1845 Census Etne clerical district included Etne, Støle and Gjerde parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 1694692 Item 2.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Dyrvik, Ståle,Etne-soga, Etne : Etne Bygdeboknemnd, 1968-. A history of Etne clerical district and a genealogy of the people and their farms in Hordaland county. Includes Støle, Grindheim, and Gjerde parishes. FHL 948.32/E1 H2d Contents: b. 1. Frå dei elste tider til 1660 -- b. 2. Bygde- og gardssoge 1660-1800 -- b. 3. Folket. Gjerde sokn -- b. 4. Folket. Stødle sokn -- b. 5. Folket. Grindheim sokn. A farm name index to volume 3 (Gerde parish) is at the following link. File:948.32-E1 H2d V3 Etne Soga.pdf

Farm Names

Genealogy

Cole, Wayne S. (Wayne Stanly), 1922: A great adventure: the story of the paternal ancestry of Thomas Roy Cole.

Thomas Roy Cole was born in 1960 at Ames, Iowa, the only child of Wayne Stanley and Virginia Rae Miller Cole. He married Christine DuFault Laurel, Maryland, in 1995. His father, Wayne Stanley Cole, was born in 1922 at Manning, Iowa, the son of Roy Eldon Cole (1895-1968) and Gladys Evelyn Granseth Cole (1899-1980). He married Virginia Rae Miller in 1950 at Madison, Wisconsin. They were living at Silver Spring, Maryland, in 1995.

Ancestors include: Joseph Cole (1810-1873) of Tennessee and Harrison County, Indiana -- Oluf Granseth (fl. 1882) from Land Parish, Oppland County, Norway, and Bode, Iowa -- James Bartlow (179_-ca. 1848) of Kentucky and Hancock County, Indiana -- Marmaduke Fort (ca. 1714-1795) of Burlington County, New Jersey -- Rev. Osmund Erikeen Sheldahl/Skjeldal (1824-1900) of Etne, Hordaland, Norway, and Sheldahl, Iowa. Includes ancestors in Norway. FHL 929.273 C675.

To view a digital version click here

Tollefsen, G.: Stambok over Tarald Hansen Bjorndalen's Etterslekt. Hans Olsen synest å være blant de første innflytter på Bjørndalen. Han ble født s. 1699 og ifølge Kirkeboken I Etne bar han til dåpen, Olle, Marita, Hans, og Tarald (dpt. 1761). Ved overgangen til pengehusholdning, slekten spredtes for alle vinne og mange emigrerte til USA. FHL 929.2481 B557

To view a digital version click here

Johannes Eriksen Osvag and his descendants: a little family history.

Microfilm of original manuscript (14 p.), loaned by Howard Oswood, Wenatchee, Wa.

Johannes Erikson Osvåg was born in Norway in 1776. He was married five times and had only one daughter who grew to adulthood. He died at age 66 in 1842. Information on his descendants many of whom came to America are included in this material by an unidentified author. Individuals mentioned are tied to the town or farm of Osvåg, Etne, Hordaland county, Norway. FHL film 1224732 Item 1

 

Probate Records

1668-1887: Records are found in Sunnhordaland judicial district.

1698-1852: Some of the farms in this parish belonged to Rosendal Estate or Lysekloster Estate. If the probate is not found in the district above look at Hardanger og Voss where the probates for Rosendal and Lysekloster were kept.

1690-1877: Clerical probate records are found in Sunnhordaland Deanery.