Euston, Suffolk Genealogy
Guide to Euston, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Thetford|
|Parish registers: 1566|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Suffolk Record Office|
EUSTON (St. Genevieve), a parish, in the union of Thetford, hundred of Blackbourn, W. division of Suffolk, 3½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Thetford; containing Rymer, extra-parochial, and the merged parish of Little Fakenham. 
Euston St Genevieve is an ancient parish in the county of Suffolk and includes Fakenham Parva or Little Fakenham. The church is the estate church of the Euston Estate. It is part of Euston Hall, opening to the public in the summer months. It is one of only four Wren style Restoration churches built outside London in the 1670's. Only two sections of the Gothic tower remain. The Earl of Arlington rebuilt this church in 1676. The foundation stone in the south wall was laid by the first Duchess of Grafton who was Arlington's daughter.
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres. Refer to and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Thetford 1837-1935
- Bury St Edmunds 1935-1974
Euston, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Euston, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
| This section requires expansion with:
Information about parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, parish chest records, non conformist and other types of church records. Also add links to online parish collections. Make reference to records found in the FamilySearch Catalog. To locate resources, look at Suffolk Parishes in the FamilySearch Catalogue.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474634.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
http://www.achurchnearyou.com/euston-st-genevieve/ for information about the parish
http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/place/place_page.jsp?p_id=7159 A vision of Britain
http://www.suffolkchurches.co.uk/euston.htm Suffolk churches website
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 186-191. Adapted. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
- 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911 Place Index', findmypast, accessed 18 December 2015.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.