Evangeline Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to Evangeline Parish, Louisiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
Parish Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Evangeline Parish was named for Acadian heroine of the poem "Evangeline" and was created in 1910. The parish seat is Ville Platte and is located in the central area of the state.[1]
Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Evangeline Parish Courthouse
200 Court St
Ville Platte, LA 70586
Phone: 337-363-5671
Evangeline Parish Courthouse
Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1911. [2]
Evangeline Parish, Louisiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the parish and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1914 | 1911 | 1914 | 1911 | 1911 | 1911 | 1700s |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this parish. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this parish:[5]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
|
||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible Records of Evangeline Parish, LA (USGenWeb Archives)
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Index to Biographies for Evangeline Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
- Evangeline Parish Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1920 | 23,485 | — |
| 1930 | 25,483 | 8.5% |
| 1940 | 30,497 | 19.7% |
| 1950 | 31,629 | 3.7% |
| 1960 | 31,639 | 0.0% |
| 1970 | 31,932 | 0.9% |
| 1980 | 33,343 | 4.4% |
| 1990 | 33,274 | −0.2% |
| 2000 | 35,434 | 6.5% |
| 2010 | 33,984 | −4.1% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members, such as: name; age, baptism, christening, or birth; marriage, maiden names; and death. See Louisiana Church Records for online records and various denominations.
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana — at Church Angel — by city
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African Americans
- Louisiana African American Griots Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- African American Cemeteries, listing by parish
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
|
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location, reveal family relationships, and more. Private transactions include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, and leases. See Louisiana Land and Property for more information and for transfer of land to private ownership (grants and land patents).
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Parish histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see Louisiana Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- 1805-1990 Maps of Louisiana (1805-1990)
- Louisiana Digital Map Library at USGen Web Archives
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this parish - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
- 1861-1865 Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images at Partner Site
- 1861-1865 Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images at Partner Site
- 1898-1950 Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War I
- 1917-1920 Louisiana World War I Service Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- 1940-1945 Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- WWII Army & Army Air Force Missing and Dead, Evangeline Parish (LAGenWeb)
Korean War
Vietnam War
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-Current Louisiana, U.S., Newspapers.com™ Stories and Events Index, 1800's-Current at Ancestry — index & images ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Index to Evangeline Parish Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
- Evangeline Parish Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records (sometimes called "Succession Records") may give date of death, names and residences of heirs (spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, relative) and neighbors or associates. See Louisiana Probate Records for more information.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1756-1984 Louisiana Wills and Probate Records 1756-1984 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1936-2007 United States, Social Security Numerical Identification Files (NUMIDENT), 1936-2007 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of civil records of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. For online sources and obtaining records, see Louisiana Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- Evangeline Parish Vital Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1837-1957 Louisiana Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1911 Evangeline Parish Marriages, 1911 (Genealogy Trails)
- Evangeline Parish Vital Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Evangeline Parish Vital Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Evangeline Parish. For state-wide facilities, see Louisiana Archives and Libraries.
FamilySearch Centers[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local FamilySearch Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- FamilySearch Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a FamilySearch center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Alexandria Louisiana FamilySearch Center
- Opelousas Louisiana FamilySearch Center
- Alexandria Genealogical Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Evangeline Parish. For state-wide library facilities, see Louisiana Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Evangeline Parish. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Louisiana Societies.
- Central Louisiana Genealogical Society
PO Box 12206
Alexandria, LA 71315-2206
Website - Louisiana Historical Association
101 LSU Student Union
LSU Box 25435
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Website - Louisiana Historical Society
428 Hector Ave
Metairie, La. 70005-4412
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Evangeline Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
- Evangeline Parish, Louisiana (LAGenWeb)
- Evangeline Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Evangeline Parish Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- Evangeline Parish LA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
- Evangeline, Louisiana Genealogy & History Network
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Evangeline, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Evangeline_Parish,_Louisiana."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Feliciana Parish, Louisana page 290, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FS Library Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Evangeline Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FS Library Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).At various libraries (WorldCat); FSC Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Evangeline Parish, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Evangeline_Parish,_Louisiana, accessed 1 January 2020.