Evesham Nonconformists, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Worcestershire
Worcestershire Parishes
Evesham Nonconformists

Guide to Evesham Nonconformists, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

 

EVESHAM, a borough and market-town and the head of a union, locally in the Lower division of the hundred of Blackenhurst, E. division of the county of Worcester, 15 miles (S. E.) from Worcester, on the road to London, 13 miles (N. E.) from Tewkesbury, and 93¾ (N. W. by W.) from London. The borough includes the parishes of All Saints, St. Lawrence, and St. Peter Bengeworth, together with most of the surrounding villages, in the peculiar jurisdiction of the Abbot of Evesham. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, the Society of Friends, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.[1]

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464214.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 06 October 2013.

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry