Evington, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Evington, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  LeicestershireGotoarrow.png  Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Evington, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Evington, Leicestershire
St Denys Evington Leicester.jpg
St Denys Evington Leicester
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gartree
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Billesdon
Registration District Billesdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1601
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gartree
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Evington
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

EVINGTON (St. Denis), a parish, in the union of Billesdon, hundred of Gartree, S. division of the county of Leicester, 2½ miles (E. S. E.) from Leicester. There are a place of worship for dissenters. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Evington like this:

EVINGTON, a parish in Billesdon district, Leicestershire; near the Midland railway, 3 miles ESE of Leicester. Post town, Thurnby, under Leicester. There is a Calvinistic chapel.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Evington, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Evington, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1601-1910
1601-1910
1601-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Evington Bap 1601 - 1961 Marr 1601 - 2007 (Banns to1987) Bur 1601 - 1990

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438741.


Poor Law Unions

Billesdon Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 191-195. Date accessed: 06 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 24 January 2014.