Eydon, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Eydon, Northamptonshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.pngNorthamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Eydon, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eydon, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chipping-Warden
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Brackley
Registration District Brackley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1706
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brackley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History

EYDON (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Brackley, hundred of Chipping-Warden, S. division of the county of Northampton, 9½ miles (S. by W.) from Daventry. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Eydon, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]
EYDON PARISH Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1888 1813-1888 1813-1888 1813-1888
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912 1813-1889 1813-1889

FREG 1538-1906 1538-1906 1538-1995

Marriages from 1640 to 1700 are indexed in Northamptonshire Marriage Index Pre-1700 (2nd ed.). FHL British CD-ROM no. 5489; publisher's bookstore.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438873.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 03 December 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.