Färnebo parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Färnebo parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngVärmland County Gotoarrow.png Färnebo parish


Guide to Färnebo parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden
Filipstad kyrka.png

History

Färnebo which was also known as Värmlandsberg was populated with the discovery of iron ore in the area. This probably happened when King Erik of Pommern sent out notice of "jernberghet i Wermelande" in 1413. By the 1500's a wooden church had been built by Kalhyttan on the west side of Färnsjön. Towards the end of the 1500's a few farms had been moved over to the newly created Nyed parish. When Filipstad was founded in 1611 the church building was moved there and Färnebo became the "Filipstad Rural Parish" to Filipstad city parish. The old wooden church burned in 1694. Another wood chuch was built which also burned down in 1775. The replacement church building was built of stone which stands today. The parish of Kroppa broke from Färnebo in 1624. This was followed by Gåsborn in 1693, and Nordmark in 1731. On Jan. 1, 1971 Färnebo was combined with Filipstad.

Färnebo
Jurisdictions
Stift Karlstad
Pastorat At first Färnebo was the pastorat. Färnebo became the annex parish to Filipstad.
Län pre - 1779 Närkes och Värmlands län, 1779 - Värmlands län
Landskap Värmland
Härad Färnebo
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Länsmansdistrikt add here
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here


Place Names

Agegruvan, Aspgruvan, Asphyttan, Bergenhall, Björnbotten, Björntjärn u. Nyhyttan, Björntjärn u. Yngshyttan, Bolhyttan, Bosjö Bruk, Bornshyttan, Brandåsgruvan, Brattforsgruvan, Bruket Bosjö, Bäcken, Daglösedet Norra, Daglösedet Södra, Daglösviken, Dalbotorp, Dammhyttan, Danielshöjden, Drakeberget, Edsbäcken, Edsholm, Fallgruvan, Fattighuset, Finngårdarna, Finnshyttan, Flyfallet, Fogdhyttan, Genstigen, Gråbergsgruvan, Gräsbosjöhyttan, Gräsnäset Norra, Gräsnäset Södra, Haborshyttan, Hektorshyttan, Hennikehammaren, Holbäcken, Horrsjöhyttan, Hökbergsgruvan, Kalhyttan, Kattbäcken, Kranka Norra, Kranka Södra, Kullen, Kytthyttegruvan, Lersjöed, Lersjön, Lervik, Lisselhöjdgruvan, Långbansgruvan, Långbanshyttan, Lönngruvan, Lövnäset, Mullgruvan, Munkåsen, Murbo, Mögsjöhyttan, Mörkhult, Mörttjärnshyttan, Norra Daglösedet, Norra Gräsnäset, Norra Kranka, Nya Ormberget, Nyhyttan, Nyhyttehöjden, Nyttstad, Ormberget Nya, Persbergs Gruvor, Persberget, Petersborg, Rosenlund, Rävbäcken, Rötlågen, Sandviken, Saxåhyttan, Sjöänden, Skavnäset, Skrivbogruvan, Skåltjärnshyttan, Stensjön, Stora Lindboms gruvan, Storbrotorp, Storhöjden, Stöpsjön, Sundet, Svenstorp, Södra Daglösedet, Södra Gräsnäset, Södra Kranka, Tagmistegruvan, Torsbäckshyttan, Tranmossen, Trullskullen, Trunhem, Yngshyttan, Yngshyttehöjden, Ålängen, Åsarna, Änggruvan, Östergården

Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Brattfors, Gåsborn, Kroppa, Lungsund, Nordmark, Storfors, Sunnemo

Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Värmland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Värmland and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Riksarkivet. "Färnebo församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2010 <http://www.nad.ra.se/>

Skatteverket. "Färnebo." Förteckning (Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna). April 2010 Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna

VärmlandsRötter. "Färnebo socken." Värmlands Släktforskarförening . April 2010 Färnebo

Länsstyrelsen Värmland. "Filipstads kyrka." Värmland.se April 2010 Filipstads kyrka

Svenska Kyrkan. "Ortregister." Färnebo Husförhörslängd 1846 - 1850