Fairfield County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
South Carolina


Fairfield County


Guide to Fairfield County, South Carolina Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.

This article is about a county in South Carolina. For other uses, see Fairfield (disambiguation).


{{{link}}}


Fairfield County, South Carolina
Map
Map of South Carolina highlighting Fairfield County
Location in the state of South Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1798
County Seat Winnsboro
Courthouse


County Information


Fairfield County, South Carolina Record Dates

Fairfield County's civil records start the following years:

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1915 1911  1915  1790  1785  1787 

County Courthouse

FairfieldSC.jpg


Fairfield County Courthouse
101 S. Congress St.
Winnsboro, SC 29180
Phone:803-712-6526

Fairfield County
Clerk of Court/Register of Deeds

101 S. Congress St.
P.O. Drawer 299
Winnsboro, SC 29180
Phone: 803-712-6526
Court and land records

Fairfield County Probate Court
P.O. Box 385
Congress Street
Winnsboro, SC 29180
Phone: 803-712-6519
Probate and marriage records

History

According to tradition, Fairfield County received its name based on a remark made by Lord Cornwallis about the "fair fields" of that area of South Carolina.[1] Learn more about the history of Fairfield County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.

Parent County/Boundary Changes

For more information as well as maps of Fairfield County through time, see the South Carolina State Archives or For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

County Pronunciation

Hear it spoken.[2]

County Seat

The county seat of Fairfield County is Winnsboro.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.

Resources

Fairfield County

Research Guides

African Americans

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png South Carolina African Americans

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
SCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
SCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
SCInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 7,623
1800 10,087 32.3%
1810 11,857 17.5%
1820 17,174 44.8%
1830 21,546 25.5%
1840 20,165 −6.4%
1850 21,404 6.1%
1860 22,111 3.3%
1870 19,888 −10.1%
1880 27,765 39.6%
1890 28,599 3.0%
1900 29,425 2.9%
1910 29,442 0.1%
1920 27,159 −7.8%
1930 23,287 −14.3%
1940 24,187 3.9%
1950 21,780 −10.0%
1960 20,713 −4.9%
1970 19,999 −3.4%
1980 20,700 3.5%
1990 22,295 7.7%
2000 23,454 5.2%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Fairfield County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Fairfield County, SC census assignments, including links to transcribed files The USGenWeb Census Project®

1820
1820 Manufactures

The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL Collection 1024517 - 1024518.

Published abstract:

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
1850, 1870, 1880
1860

Census takers uncharacteristically recorded the birth town or county of residents this census year.[3]

Church

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

See also Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints Marker at The Historical Marker Database. "Site of five buildings 1897-1986. Enemies of church burned two, tornado destroyed one."

Court

DNA

DNA Double Helix.png
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Charleston County residents. FamilySearch has not independently verified the lineages of those tested.

Genealogy

More than 65 genealogies have been published about Fairfield County families. To view a list, visit Fairfield County, South Carolina Genealogy.

Land

Deeds

The original Fairfield County deed books are kept at the county courthouse. The years 1785 to 1902 have been microfilmed: FHL Collection. Deed Book A has been published:

Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868

This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification.  All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants

The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative.

Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
War of 1812
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Civil War service men from Fairfield County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Fairfield County or from many of its men:

- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company K
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company H (also known as the Congaree Troop) and Company I (also known as the Edgefield Hussars or formerly known as Company A, Cavalry Battalion, Hampton Legion, and the Edgefield Dragoons)
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Lauren's) (James'), Company G (also known as the Aiken Guards)
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion), Company C (also known as the Wilson Light Artillery, Culpepper's Light Artillery and Culpeper Battery)
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Reserves, Company B
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops (6 months 1863-64), Company B
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company H
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company B
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troops, Company H
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry , Company A
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves (90 days 1862-63), Company F, Company H, Company I
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company C
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company C, Company D, Company I, Company G, and Company H
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles), Company B, Company E, Company G, and Company H
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company D, Company G, and Company H
- 10th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A
- Before Reorganization the 10th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry had the following companies: Company C
- 12th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company C, Company D, and Company F
- 15th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry , Company E and Company I
- 16th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company C
- 17th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company B and Company D
- 19th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company D
- 19th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company B
- South Carolina State Troop Regiments Seed Corn Units, Junior Reserves, 3rd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia)

Other Resources

Newspapers

Historic

The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Fairfield County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

Current

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:

  • Chester District Genealogical Society Bulletin
  • Fairfield Genealogical Society Newsletter

Probate

Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.”[4] Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.

The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has  microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name and the image is available.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.

Original sources

The South Carolina Department of Archives and History microfilmed the collection, Return of Taxable Property in the District of Fairfield for the Year 1843. Copies: FHL Film 1294221 Item 3

Published abstracts

Vital Records

Births

State-wide birth registration began in 1915.  For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health.  The Fairfield County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information.  For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriages

In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.

Deaths

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Archives, Libraries, and Museums

Libraries

Fairfield County Library Main Branch
Address:
300 Washington Street
Winnsboro, South Carolina 29180
Telephone: 803-635-4971
Fax: 803-635-7715
Email: library@fairfield.lib.sc.us
Hours: Monday to Wednesday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Thursday 9:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Friday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Catalog: Fairfield County Library catalog is part of the SC Lends system powered by Evergreen. It is best viewed with Firefox.

The Historical Room contains published South Carilina Materials with emplasis on Fairfield County including cemetery records; local newspapers on microfilm from 1866; microfilms of early wills, probate records, and some census records. There are no manuscripts or loose papers.

Ridgeway Branch Library
Address:
175 South Palmer Street
Ridgeway, South Carolina
Telephone: 803-337-2068 
Hours: Monday to Thorsday 2:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Museums

The Fairfield County Museum
Address:

231 S. Congress St.
P. O. Box 6
Winnsboro, South Carolina 29180
Phone: 803-635-9811
Fax: 803-815-9811
Email: fairfieldmus@truvista.net
Office Hours: Tuesday - Friday 10:00 AM- to 5:00 PM (closed for lunch); Sat 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM
Free Admission

This museum is located in a historic house which displays local artifacts. A gift shop sells publications on local history. The Museum has welcoms volunteer to help with various projects that include: archeological projects such as - scouting to find Revolutionary battle sites for National Park Service surveys,the identification of a section of the Great Philadelphia Wagon Road that had been forgotten by time in dense forest cover, the discovery of an eighteenth century riverboat canal, and the locating and documenting of old graveyards.

Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage

Fairfield Chapter SCGS
P.O. Box 696
Winnsboro SC 29180

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Fairfield County, South Carolina

References

  1. South Carolina State Library, "Fairfield County"
  2. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  3. Alycon Trubey Pierce, "In Praise of Errors Made by Census Enumerators," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 1 (March 1993):51-55. FHL Book 973 B2ng
  4. Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."


...

Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Fairfield_County,_South_Carolina_Genealogy&oldid=2783735"