Fairstead, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Fairstead, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Fairstead, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fairstead, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Witham
County Essex
Poor Law Union Witham
Registration District Witham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Witham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Fairstead also spelled Fairsted, is a parish in Witham district, Essex; it is 2 1/4 miles SW of White Notley railway station, and 4 miles WNW of Witham.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Fairstead, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Fairstead, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1539-1753


ESSEX
1538-1893
1539-1957
1539-1993
NBI



1539-1812
Non-Conformist Churches

Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241379.


Poor Law Unions

Witham Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Fairstead on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, London and Edinburgh, 1870. Adapted: date accessed: 21 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.
http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-115361-parish-church-of-st-mary-the-virgin-fair British Listed Buildings online