FamilySearch Wiki:Wiki Project Indiana Tasks - Tax Intro

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

WikiProject Indiana Gotoarrow.png Wiki Project Indiana Tasks - Tax Records Intro

Description

The purpose of this task is to add an introduction to tax records on Indiana county pages.

This task is beginner task and requires basic experience with copying and pasting in wikitext.


Instructions

1. Check the Assignment Chart below to choose a county to edit.

2. Sign up on the Assignment Chart to accept the task. Sign-up instructions are posted with the Assignment Chart below.

3. For each county, you will add information to the county page by editing in wikitext. Read the general instructions then follow the wikitext link to continued task directions about using wikitext to edit this project.

4. Mark the Assignment Chart below to indicate you have finished the task.

Wikitext Editing Instructions

Adding the Intro Template

1. Click on your chosen county name in the Assignment Chart. This will take you to your county page.

2. Login to the FamilySearch wiki using your FamilySearch login name and password. Find the sign-in area in the top right-hand corner of the page.

3. Scroll to the heading Taxation.

4. Open the Taxation heading for editing by clicking on the pen in square on the right-hand side of the page, opposite the heading title.

5. Click on the word wikitext in the toolbox at the top left of the edit box.

6. Place your cursor immediately after the heading Taxation and strike the enter key on your keyboard.

7. While in wiki text, copy and paste the following template under the heading Taxation:

{{IN Tax Intro}}

8. If there is any other text under the heading, be sure to place the intro template on a separate line before any additional text.

9. Scroll nearly to the bottom of the page. Add a summary sentence in the Summary box saying something like, "Added tax intro".

10. Click on the box "Save Page". The task is complete.

11. Follow the directions in the Assignment Chart section below to report your completed task.

12. Save the page and exit. The task is complete.

Example of Completed Heading

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Example of a Completed Section

Tax lists are often used as substitutes for missing census records. In Indiana. These records are maintained by the county treasurer. The records are arranged by taxing unit, usually by township and town or city, then grouped, generally, alphabetically by last name.

The lists mention the person assessed for poll tax, the number of acres owned, the location of the land, the worth of chattels (property other than real estate), and the amount of the taxes.

See Monroe County, Indiana Taxation

Assignment Chart

If you are accepting this task:

1. Sign in to the wiki at the upper right-hand corner of this page. Use your FamilySearch account username and password.
2. Open the Assignment Chart for editing by clicking on the check mark in the box at the right opposite the Assignment Table heading.
3. Place your cursor in the box under the heading Name/Date Task Accepted and opposite your county of choice.
4. Not all counties are included in the chart below. If your county is not listed, this task is not needed for your county.
5. Type 4 tildes (~). This symbol is located on the upper left-hand part of your keyboard, next to the number 1. The ~~~~ is an electronic signature and will leave your user name and date when you signed.
6. Scroll nearly to the bottom of the page. Add a summary sentence in the Summary box saying something like, "Selected Adams County for adding Family History Center".
7. Click on the box "Save Page".
8. You are now signed up to complete this task.
Return to Top of Page


If you are completing this task:

  • Follow the same instructions as accepting the task, except place your cursor in the correct county box under the heading Date Completed. Change your summary sentence to something like, "Completed Monroe County for taxes."


County Name/Date Task Accepted Date Completed
Adams Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Allen Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Bartholomew Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Benton Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Blackford Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Boone Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Brown Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Carroll Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Cass Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Clark Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Clay Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Clinton Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Crawford Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Daviess Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
DeKalb Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Decatur Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Delaware Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Dubois Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Elkhart Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Fayette Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Floyd Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Fountain Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Franklin Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Fulton Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Gibson Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Grant Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Greene Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Hamilton Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Hancock Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Harrison Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Hendricks Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Henry Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Howard Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Huntington Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Jackson Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Jasper Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Jay Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Jefferson Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Jennings Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Johnson Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Knox Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Kosciusko Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
LaGrange Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
La Porte Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Lake Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Lawrence Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Madison Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Marion Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Marshall Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Martin Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Miami Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Montgomery Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Morgan Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Newton Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Noble Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Ohio Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Orange Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Owen Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Parke Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Perry Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Pike Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Porter Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Posey Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Pulaski Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Putnam Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Randolph Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Ripley Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Rush Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Scott Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Shelby Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Spencer Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
St. Joseph Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Starke Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Steuben Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Sullivan Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Switzerland Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Tippecanoe Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Tipton Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Union Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Vanderburgh Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Vermillion Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Vigo Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Wabash Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Warren Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Warrick Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Washington Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Wayne Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Wells Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
White Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)
Whitley Lovebrenda 18:01, 21 July 2013 (UTC) Lovebrenda 18:08, 21 July 2013 (UTC)

End Template