Farndish, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Farndish, Northamptonshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Northamptonshire
Northamptonshire Parishes
Farndish


Guide to Farndish, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Farndish, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Willey
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Wellingborough
Registration District Wellingborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1587
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clapham
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History

FARNDISH (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Wellingborough, hundred of Willey, county of Bedford, 4½ miles (S. E.) from Wellingborough, and the same distance (S. W. by S.) from Higham-Ferrers. It occupies the extreme north-western part of the county, upon the border of Northamptonshire. [1]

Additional information:

This parish is an Ancient Parish partly in Bedfordshire and partly in Northampton, however, the main location is in Bedfordshire. See also Farndish, Bedfordshire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is {{{1}}}.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 03 December 2013.