Farnsfield, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Farnsfield, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Farnsfield St+Michael Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell|
|Parish registers: 1572|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1603|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Southwell|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
FARNSFIELD (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Southwell, Southwell division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 4 miles (N. W. by W.) from Southwell. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Farnsfield St Michael is an Ancient Parish; the church was rebuilt in 1859-1860 after a fire. The church dates from the 15th century and has been designated a Grade II listed building by English Heritage British listed building
The village and civil parish in Sherwood Forest are in the district of newark and Sherwood.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Farnsfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|FARNSFIELD PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Farnsfield
Transcribed by Baily, J. Bryan. Farnsfield Parish Book 1794-1878. Information extracted from Minutes of Vestry Meeting, Overseers of the Poor Accounts and lists of persons receiving relief, plus a comprehensive list of families, dating from 1794-1878. Article at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 20,592 and also the transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.99, page 48-87, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
St Michael and All Angels - Farnsfield. An alphabetical listing of the transcriptions of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the Church dated from 1662, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 69, pages 39-50 , Family History Library Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.