Farnworth St Thomas, Dixon Green, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

History

Farnworth St Thomas Dixon Green was an ecclesiastical parish in the Diocese of Manchester founded in 1878, the patron being the Bishop of Manchester. The church was closed in 1996 and deconsecrated in 2000.

The church was later occupied by the Farnworth Christian Fellowship who in a four year restoration turned the derelict building into a local St Thomas Centre. The building was dedicated as such in 2008.

FARNWORTH, a town, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district in Deane parish and Bolton district, Lancashire. The town stands near the Bolton and Manchester railway, 3 miles SE of Bolton; has a post office under Bolton, and a railway station with telegraph, jointly with Halshaw-Moor, on the railway; publishes a weekly newspaper; is a seat of cotton manufacture, and of the iron trade; is also the place where the late Mr. T. B. Crompton, for some time, carried on one of the largest paper-works in the kingdom; and is regarded, in statistics, as co-extensive with township. Acres of the township, 1, 450. Real property, £26,684; of which £3,249 are in mines, £40 in quarries, and £839 in gas-works. Pop. in 1851, 6,389; in 1861, 8,720. Houses, 1,720. The property is much subdivided. The increase of pop. arose from the erection of cotton mills and the establishment of foundries. A public park for Bolton is situated at Farnworth; was presented by T. Barnes, Esq., M. P. for Bolton; was inagurated, in 1864, by Mr. Gladstone; and is estimated to be worth nearly £13,000. The chapelry includes also the township of Kersley; and was constituted in 1828. Pop., 13,723. Houses, 2,714. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £300.* Patrons, Hulme's Trustees. The church is modern, in the pointed style, and cost £8,000. A tract, with a pop. of 4,000, was formed, in 1866, into the separate charge of New Bury. There are two Church schools, used as chapels of ease; an Independent chapel, built in 1863, at a cost of £2,500; a Wesleyan chapel, built in 1862, at a cost of £4,000; P. Methodist, Swedenborgian, and Roman Catholic chapels; and a national school. The sub-district is conterminate with the chapelry.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Includes transcripts for this parish.

Church records

Farnworth St Thomas, Dixon Green, Lancashire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)][1]
Farnworth St Thomas, Dixon Green, Lancashire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1887-1915 1887-1915 1900-1915 1900-1915

Farnworth (Bolton)- St Peter
Baptisms-1886-1909- MFPR 2272
Baptisms-1910-2003- Archives L258
Marriages-1888-1921- MFPR 2272
Marriages-1922-2003- Archives L258

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Parish registers for St. Thomas, Dixon-Green, Farnworth, 1878-1946. Microfilm copy of originals formerly held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England.
Dixon-Green is an ecclesiastical district in Farnworth, near Bolton.
Manchester Central Library call nos.: L150/1/1/1, L150/1/2/1.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1878-1887. Marriages, 1880-1900.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113079
Baptisms, 1887-1937. Marriages, 1900-1915, 1934-1946.
FHL BRITISH Film
1408891 Items 3 - 7


Census records


Poor Law Unions

Bolton, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

St Thomas Centre Farnworth Christian Fellowship http://www.fcf.org.uk/ for information about the Centre.

British History Online Farnworth

References