Federated States of Micronesia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Pacific Gotoarrow.png Federated States of Micronesia

Federated States of Micronesia Wiki Topics
Flag of the Federated States of Micronesia.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Federated States of Micronesia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Guide to Federated States of Micronesia ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Country Information

The Federated States of Micronesia is an independent sovereign island nation and a United States associated state in the Pacific Ocean whose nearest neighbors are New Guinea, Guam, the Mariana Islands, Nauru, the Marshall Islands, and Palau. It was formerly ruled by Portugal, Spain, Germany, and Japan. The official language is English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Federated States of Micronesia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Federated States of Micronesia research.

Federated States of Micronesia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Federated States of Micronesia research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Federated States of Micronesia Clickable Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Federated States of Micronesia. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Micronesia, Federated States of, map.gif

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Federated States of Micronesia. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) includes four main island groups:[2]

  • Pohnpei - formerly known as Ponape
  • Chuuk - formerly known as Truk Islands
  • Yap
  • Kosrae - formerly known as Kosaie

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Federated States of Micronesia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Federated_States_of_Micronesia, accessed 2 May 2016.
  2. "Federated States of Micronesia," Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Federated_States_of_Micronesia: accessed 18 August 2008), and Central Intelligence Agency, "Micronesia, Federated States of," World Factbook (https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/fm.html: accessed 18 August 2008).