Felixstowe, Suffolk Genealogy
|England Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Felixstowe, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Woodbridge|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1698|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Suffolk Record Office|
FELIXSTOW (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Woodbridge, hundred of Colneis, E. division of Suffolk, 11½ miles (S. E. by E.) from Ipswich. 
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres. Refer to and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Felixstowe, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Felixstowe, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
| This section requires expansion with:
Information about parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, parish chest records, non conformist and other types of church records. Also add links to online parish collections. Make reference to records found in the FamilySearch Catalog. To locate resources, look at Suffolk Parishes in the FamilySearch Catalogue.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474637.
Knight, Gordon: The Beail Family. History and family tree of Benjamin Beail and Harriet surname unknown, dating from 1831-1956, family is listed in the following places. Essex, Colchester, Leicestershire, Thurmaston, Sfk, Felixstowe, Milfield, Walton, and Wickham Market. In the family tree other names listed are Larkin, Smith, Davis, Durrant, Keeble and Brett. Article in Roots and Branches, Journal of the Felixstowe Family History Soc. vol. 7, no.3. pages 12-15, FHL 942.64/F5 D25r
A Second Cousin Twice Removed. A family tree of John Collett Hickey married Mary Ann Hobbins, from 1806-1967, and descendants of Ward, Robinson, Yetton, Henry, Parmetner, Hunter, Buckledee, Kidd, Hackney, listed in the following areas, Shoreditch, Bethnal Green, Walthamstow, Leytonstone, Hackney, Wanstead and Felixstowe. Article in Roots and Branches vol.10.no.3, page 28 FHL Ref. 942.64/F5 D25r
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 225-228. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
- 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911', Find My Past, accessed 5 January 2016.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.