Felling Christ Church, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Felling Christ Church, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Felling Christ Church, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union Gateshead
Registration District Gateshead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1866
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

FELLING, a hamlet, in thechapelry of Heworth parish of Jarrow, E. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 2 miles (S. E.) from Gateshead, on the road to Sunderland and South Shields. The Independents, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, and Wesleyans have places of worship, with Sunday schools attached; and there is a neat Roman Catholicchapel, erected in 1841.[1]

Additional information: Felling Christ Church parish was formed in 1866 from Heworth parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/ 2/106 April 1866- 1869 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1866-1970 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Fe).


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241352.


Poor Law Unions

Auckland Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 225-228. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 225-228. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.