Feltwell, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Feltwell, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Thetford|
|Parish registers: 1562; Separate registers exist for Feltwell St Nicholas beginning 1664|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1692|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
FELTWELL (St. Mary and St. Nicholas), consolidated parishes, in the union of Thetford, hundred of Grimshoe, W. division of Norfolk, 6 miles (N. W.) from Brandon. 
Feltwell has two churches Feltwell St Nicholas and Feltwell St Mary the Virgin. St Mary is used throughout the summer months and for all major services, and St Nicholas during the winter months, since it is easier to heat. Most funeral services are held in the Church of St, Nicholas. The Parish Church of St. Mary stands in the centre of Feltwell Village. The exact date of the origin of the Church is not known, but since the oldest part of the building, the Chancel, is in the Decorated Style of Architecture, which prevailed about 1275 to 1375, then it is safe to assume that St. Mary's is six hundred years old or more.
St. Mary's achieved historical mention, though hardly laudable, in 1602, in the list of Ruined and Decayed Churches in the Deanery of "ffyncham and Cranwich". The Church was subsequently repaired in 1834 when Feltwell had less than three hundred houses. Some years later, in 1862, the north aisle was rebuilt and the building generally enlarged to its present dimensions
Historically the parish was in the Diocese of Norfolk but is now one of the deanery of Fincham and Feltwell in the Diocese of Ely.
A former Second World War bomber station, the base is used as a housing estate for United States Air Force personnel stationed nearby at RAF Mildenhall and RAF Lakenheath, while also containing the Mathies Airman Leadership School for USAF personnel in the UK, as well as being the home of the Army and Air Force Exchange Service's sole furniture store in the country. It also houses the only Middle School for Lakenheath and Mildenhall, which covers most of the base.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Thetford 1837-1938
- Downham 1939-1974
Feltwell St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Feltwell St Mary Parish Online Records|
||1562-1678, 1730-1901|| |
Feltwell St Nicholas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Feltwell St Nicholas Parish Online Records|
|FS PRs||Undefined||1664-1811||Undefined||1664-1746, 1754-1819||Undefined||1664-1746|
Norfolk Record Office reference Feltwell St Mary PD 432/1-4, 9-13, 15-20
St Nicholas PD432/5-7
the two parishes form combined registers after 1812
Feltwell Methodist Church
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438860.
Genealogy From Periodicals
Whitmore, Elizabeth. Family Fortunes - Don't Forget the Wives. Description of the family of William Whitmore, and Dorothy Batterby, and his partner Frances Cook and descendants, including a Family Tree dating from 1661-1970, with surnames Horn, Rutland, Caney, Tuddenham, Miller, Morris and Dixon. The descendants moved from Shouldham, to Feltwell, Brandon Suffolk, and Grimsby Lincs. Article in The Norfolk Ancestor, new series vol. 2, pt. 9, pages 553-555. Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j new ser. v2, pt 9.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Feltwell on GenUKI
- Parish Info
- More Parish Info
- St Nicholas Feltwell Churches Conservation trust
- British Listed building
- Feltwell Vision of Britain
- History of St Mary church Friends of St. Mary's Feltwell
- Feltwell Norfolk Churches website.
- Feltwell Methodist Church
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 228-230. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
- 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.