Fenton, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Fenton, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Stoke on Trent|
|Registration District||Stoke upon Trent|
|Parish registers: 1839|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1839|
|Rural Deanery||Stoke upon Trent|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
FENTON-CULVERT, or Great Fenton, an ecclesiastical district, in the borough and parish of Stokeupon-Trent, N. division of the hundred of Pirehilland of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (E. S. E.) from Newcastle-under-Lyme. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, and Methodists of the New Connexion. 
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Fenton like this:
FENTON, a chapelry and a sub-district in Stoke-upon-Trent parish and district, Stafford. The chapelry lies on the Hanley branch of the North Staffordshire railway, near the Grand Trunk canal. 1 mile SE of Stoke-upon-Trent.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Fenton Christ Church was formed in 1840 from Fenton in Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire EP
Fenton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free FREG - Search under Stoke-Upon-Trent|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FENTON CHRIST CHURCH PARISH (1839) Online Records|
Temple St Wesleyan Methodist Chapel (Fenton) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|TEMPLE ST WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (FENTON) (1799) Online Records|
FREG has transcribed the following Burial Registers1887-1918
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474620.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 230-232. Date accessed: 23 October 2012.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 September 2013.
- 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 31 May 2015.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.