Fergus County, Montana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Fergus County, Montana)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Montana Gotoarrow.png Fergus County

Guide to Fergus County, Montana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Lewistown
Organized: March 12, 1885
Parent County(s): Meagher and Chouteau[1]
Neighboring Counties
Blaine  • Chouteau  • Golden Valley  • Judith Basin  • Musselshell  • Petroleum  • Phillips  • Wheatland
See County Maps
Courthouse
Fergus County Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Montana highlighting Fergus County.svg.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Fergus County Courthouse
712 W Main Street
Lewistown, MT 59457-2562
Phone: 406.538.5119
Fergus County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records;
Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records;
County Assessor has land records[2]

Fergus County, Montana Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1904*
1885*
1904*
1885
1885
1885
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Parent County: created 12 March 1885 from Meagher and Chouteau
County seat: Lewistown [3]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county from Wikipedia: [4]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Fergus County, Montana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Montana Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1890 3,514
1900 6,937 97.4%
1910 17,385 150.6%
1920 28,344 63.0%
1930 16,531 −41.7%
1940 14,040 −15.1%
1950 14,015 −0.2%
1960 14,018 0.0%
1970 12,611 −10.0%
1980 13,076 3.7%
1990 12,083 −7.6%
2000 11,893 −1.6%
2010 11,586 −2.6%
Source: [1]


Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Montana starting in 1870. For links to Federal census indexes, see Montana Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Lewiston

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Fergus County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Fergus County

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War I

For further information see Montana Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Montana Newspapers Online

Montana Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fergus County, Montana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

See also United States Obituaries for more about finding United States obituaries.

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Fergus - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.

Central Montana Genealogical Society has marriage indexes, birth and mortuary records. They also have family histories. Please see entry under Libraries and societies.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Resources at the Lewistown Public Library include:
  • Central Montana Church Records
  • Cemetery and Mortuary Records
  • Birth and Marriage Records
  • Montana Census Films
  • Local Histories and Newspaper Microfilms
They are very knowledgeable and helpful.

Museums

Societies

  • Central Montana Genealogical Society
    Located on the upper floor of the Lewistown Public Library
    701 West Main
    Lewistown, Montana, 59457 406–538–5212
    Website: Lewistown Library

Websites

  • USGenWeb Fergus County, Montana project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • Kindred Trails separates the resource website links into categories.
  • Newspaperarchive.com ($) There are some Fergus county obituaries listed on this website.

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 415.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Fergus County, Montana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fergus_County,_Montana, accessed 5 December 2016.