Feuerthalen parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Feuerthalen parish

Guide to Feuerthalen parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Feuerthalen originally belonged to the parish of Laufen. In 1581, the parishioners were allowed to attend sermons in the city of Schaffhausen, but sacraments (baptism, confirmation, etc.) took place in Laufen. Feuerthalen became an independent Protestant parish in 1675.

Place Names

Locations within Feuerthalen

Fenisberg
Feuerthalen

Itasruh
Langwiesen

Lindenbuck
Werft

Surrounding Parishes

Büsingen am Hochrhein (Baden, Germany)
Laufen
Schlatt (Thurgau)
Schaffhausen (Schaffhausen)

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

For census records before 1675, see the entries under Laufen. The following censuses are available for Feuerthalen:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1678 1185157 1 281
1682 1185160 2 65
1689 1185162 1 245
1699 1185166 2 129
1729 1185176 2 311

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Feuerthalen families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Feuerthalen prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland