Fiji Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Pacific Gotoarrow.png Fiji

Fiji Wiki Topics
Flag of Fiji.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Fiji Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Fiji ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Country Information

Fiji is an island country in the Pacific Ocean whose nearest neighbors are Vanuatu, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Tonga, American Samoa, Samoa, Wallis and Futuna, and Tuvalu. It was formerly a colony of Great Britain. The official languages are English, Fijian, and Hindi.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Fiji Research

Links to articles on getting started with Fiji research.

Fiji Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Fiji research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Fiji Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Fiji.

A map of Fiji's administrative divisions.


Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Fiji. Fiji is divided into Four Major Divisions which are further divided into 14 provinces. They are:

  • Central Division has 5 provinces: Naitasiri, Namosi, Rewa, Serua, and Tailevu.
  • Eastern Division has 3 provinces: Kadavu, Lau, and Lomaiviti.
  • Northern Division has 3 provinces: Bua, Cakaudrove, and Macuata.
  • Western Division has 3 provinces: Ba, Nadroga-Navosa, and Ra.[1]

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


  1. 1.0 1.1 Wikipedia contributors, "Fiji," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,, accessed 2 May 2016.