Fineshade, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Fineshade, Northamptonshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Northamptonshire
Northamptonshire Parishes
Fineshade


Guide to Fineshade, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fineshade, Northamptonshire
Type Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Corby
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Uppingham
Registration District Uppingham
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History

FINESHADE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Uppingham, hundred of Corby, N. division of the county of Northampton, 8 miles (N. N. W.) from Oundle.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Uppingham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 03 December 2013.