Finningley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Finningley, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Hundred||Bassetlaw; Doncaster Soke|
|Poor Law Union||Doncaster|
|Parish registers: 1557|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1627|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
FINNINGLEY (St. Oswald), a parish, in the union of Doncaster, partly in the Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, and partly in the soke of Doncaster, W. riding of York, 4 miles (N. by E.) from Bawtry with the townships of Aukley and Blaxton. In the village is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Finningley is an Ancient Parish, mostly in Nottinghamshire and partly in Yorkshire.
Other places in the parish include: Blaxton, Acomb, Ninescores, God's Cross, and Frog Hall.
Wesleyan Methodist is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in Finningley.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Finningley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|FINNINGLEY PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Finningley
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..