Finnmark County, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Finnmark County, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway Wiki Topics
Flag of Norway.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Norway Background
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for California is SteuartRC
Norway
Finnmark County
Finnmark-Norway.png

Guide to Finnmark ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}
Finnmark is a county in the extreme northeast of Norway. By land it borders Troms county to the west, Finland (Lapland) to the south and Russia (Murmansk Oblast) to the east, and by water, the Norwegian Sea (Atlantic Ocean) to the northwest, and the Barents Sea (Arctic Ocean) to the north and northeast.

The county was formerly known as Finmarkens amt or Vardøhus amt, and since 2002, has had two official names: Finnmark (Norwegian) and Finnmárku (Sami language). It is part of the Sápmi region, which spans four countries, as well as the Barents Region, and is the largest and least populated county of Norway.

Situated at the Northernmost part of continental Europe, where Norway swings eastward, Finnmark has always been an area where east meets west, in culture as well as in nature and geography.

Family History Resources

Government Offices and Sites

Cities, Parishes and Clerical Districts in Finnmark County

LoppaHasvikØksfjordTalvikHammerfestKvalsundMåsøyKjelvikKistrandAltaKautokeinoKarasjokKjøllefjordLebesbyPolmakGamvikTanaBerlevågVardøVadsøNessebySør VarangerFinnmark Parishes 2x2.jpg


Church Records/Civil Registration

Censuses

Farm Books

Bygdebøker for Finnmark Fylke

Passenger Lists

Probate Records

Probate Jurisdictions

Finnmark.jpg


Taxation

Return to Norway Page