Fisher County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Texas
Fisher County

Guide to Fisher County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png


Fisher County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Fisher County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded August 21, 1876
County Seat Roby
Courthouse
TexasFisherCourthouse.jpg
Address Fisher County Courthouse
PO Box 368
Roby, TX 79543
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today


County Information


County Courthouse

Fisher County Courthouse
PO Box 368
Roby, TX 79543
Phone: 325-776-2401
Fax: 325-776-3274

County Clerk has birth, death and marriage records from 1903,
land records from 1886, probate and court records from 1920[1]

County Clerk

P.O. Box 368
Roby 79543
Phone: 325-776-2401
Fax: 325-776-3274

District Clerk

P.O. Box 88
Roby 79543
Phone: 325-776-2279
Fax: 325-776-3253

Fisher County, Texas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1903 1886 1880 1886 1886

History

1876 The first settlers arrived in 1876.

Parent County

1876--Fisher County was created 21 August 1876 from Bexar Land District.

  • County seat: Roby [2]

Fisher County is named for Samuel Rhoads Fisher, a signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence and a Secretary of the Navy of the Republic of Texas. Fisher County is one of 30 prohibition, or entirely dry, counties in the state of Texas.

Boundary Changes

See an interactive map of Fisher County boundary changes.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Hamlin

Roby

Rotan

Neighboring Counties

Jones  • Kent  • Mitchell  • Nolan  • Scurry  • Stonewall  • Taylor

Taylor CountyNolan CountyMitchell CountyScurry CountyGarza CountyKent CountyStonewall CountyJones CountyFisher CountyTX Fisher.JPG
About this image

Resources

African American

Biographies

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
Linkpendium WorldCat Tombstone Project
Billion Graves (name) Cemeteries of TX
GenWeb Archives Texas Cemeteries
Billion Graves (cemetery) TX Gravestones
TXGenWeb Epodunk
Names in Stone
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Additional Cemetery Sources

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 136
1890 2,996 2102.9%
1900 3,708 23.8%
1910 12,596 239.7%
1920 11,009 −12.6%
1930 13,563 23.2%
1940 12,932 −4.7%
1950 11,023 −14.8%
1960 7,865 −28.6%
1970 6,344 −19.3%
1980 5,891 −7.1%
1990 4,842 −17.8%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.




















Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Fisher County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

Maps

Txfisher.jpg Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site

Military

Mexican-American War
Civil War
World War I
World War II

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fisher County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Societies and Libraries

Roby Library
106 NE 1st Street
Roby, TX 79543

Rotan Library
404 E. Sammy Baugh Avenue
Rotan, TX 79546

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

  • TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
  • USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), F isher County, Texas. Page 663 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).