Fjell, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Fjell, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Hordaland County
Fjell


Guide to Fjell, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Fjell prestegjed(clerical district). Contains the parish registers for the parishes Fjell and Strudshavn. They were separated from Sund clerical district in 1803. They were included in Askøy clerical district from 1812-1819. Included Askøy and Laksevåg until 1871. The 1814-1819 christenings for Fjell parish are in Sund parish register 11. See also Askøy and Sund clerical districts. Records available from 1816-1919.

Images of digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Fjell: 1835-1877

Fjell/Fjell: 1861-1936

See also: Askøy and Sund

Census Records

For early census records including 1801 see Sund.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Akselberg, Gunnstein, 1949-; Skurtveit, Halvor; Fyllingsnes, Frode, 1958-: Fjell bygdebok.

History of Fjell Community and genealogical information on farm residents living in Fjell, Hordaland co., Norway.

Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

Contents: v. 1. Natur- og kulturhistoria fram til 1700 / Gunnstein Akselberg ... [et al.] -- v. 2. Gards- og slektshistoria for gardsnummer 1-19 / Halvor Skurtveit ... [et al.] -- v. 3. Gards- og slektshistoria for gardsnummer 20-29 & 59-60 -- v. 4. Gards- og slektshistoria for gardsnummer 30-41 -- v. 5. Gards- og slektshistoria for gardsnummer 42-58. FHL 948.32/F4 D2

Farm Names

27 Aagotnes 9 Aase 18 Algrøen, Algrøyna 23 Angeltveit 37 Anglevik 41 Arefjord 25 Bakken 50 Bakken 24 Berget 34 Bildøen, Bildøyna 50 Bjørøen nordre 42 Bratholmen 5 Brattenborg, Brattholmen 18 Brekken 54 Dale 30 Dalen, Dalseidet 19 Dyrøen, Dyrøyna 45 Ebbesvik 20 Eide, Eide nordre 3 Ekren 46 Ekrhovde nordre 57 Fjelde midtre 29 Fjæreid 36 Foldnes 18 Garen 28 Garen 56 Garen 44 Gavlen 31 Gjeitanger 30 Gjerdet 52 Haganes 11 Haugen 12 Haugen 25 Haugen 28 Haugen 41 Haugene 13 Hissøen, Hissøyna 21 Kaartveit 2 Kallestad 30 Knapskog 40 Knarreviken 33 Kolltveit, Kobbeltveit, Kårtveit 14 Laakøen 24 Landro 16 Langøen, Langøyna 56 Leitet 48 Li 49 Liaskjæret 14 Lønen, Løno, Midtre Fjell, Misje 32 Morland 30 Myren 11 Møvik 6 Nese 24 Nordhaugen, Nordre Bjorøyna, Nordre Ekrhovda, Nordre Fjell 4 Nordvik 22 Pollen 39 Rennedalen 55 Sandgoltseid 17 Sekkingstad 15 Skaalvik 12 Skaaren 10 Skoge Nordre, Skålvika 43 Snekkevik 25 Solsvik 28 Spjell, Spjeld 24 Stallen, Straume 35 Strømme 12 Syltøen, Syltøyna, Søre Bjorøyna, Søre Ekrhovda, Søre Fjell 24 Sørhaugen 28 Sørhaugen 53 Telnes, Trengereid 30 Træet, Turøyna 7 Tveite, Ulveset 8 Ulvesæter 18 Under Fjeldet 38 Vaage 41 Valen, Vindnes 26 Vinnes, Vågo, Ågotnes, Åse

Genealogy

Tellnes, Gunnar: Slekta vår, ei ættesoge frå, 1600-1979. A genealogy of the families from Telnes and Møvik in Fjell clerical district on the island of Sotra in Hordaland county. FHL 948.32/F4 D2

Hess, Helene Julia Petersen, 1837-: Temple record book, 1648-1902. Consists of genealogical data, 1648-1902, with most temple ordinances, 1845-1938, for ancestry of Helena Julia (Petersen) Hess (b.1837), a Mormon convert who immigrated from Norway to Farmington, Utah and married John W. Hess (b.1824), another Mormon convert who moved to Farmington from Pennsylvania. Ancestors lived chiefly in Fjell and other parishes in Hordaland County, Norway. FHL film 673295 Items 8-9

Probate Records

From 1702-1848: Records are found in Nordhordaland, 1702-1910 judicial district.

1848-1895: Records are found in Midhordaland judicial district which was created from Nordhordaland.

1800-1852: Some of the farms in this parish belonged to Lysekloster Estate. If the probate is not found in the district above look at Hardanger og Voss where the probates for Lysekloster were kept.

1773-1810: Clerical probate records are found in Nordhordaland Deanery.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names