Flathead County, Montana Genealogy
Guide to Flathead County, Montana ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Flathead County, Montana|
Location in the state of Montana
Location of Montana in the U.S.
|Founded||February 6, 1893|
|Address|| Flathead County Courthouse|
800 S Main Street
Kalispell, MT 59901
Flathead County Website
- 1 Historical Facts
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Biography
- 2.2 Cemeteries
- 2.3 Census
- 2.4 Church Records
- 2.5 Court Records
- 2.6 Directories
- 2.7 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.8 Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
- 2.9 Gazetteers
- 2.10 Genealogy
- 2.11 History
- 2.12 Land and Property
- 2.13 Maps
- 2.14 Migration
- 2.15 Military
- 2.16 Newspapers
- 2.17 Obituaries
- 2.18 Probate
- 2.19 Public Records
- 2.20 Repositories
- 2.21 Taxation
- 2.22 Vital Records
- 2.23 Websites
- 3 References
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
- Parent County: created 6 February 1893 from Missoula
- County seat: Kalispell 
- Neighboring Counties: Glacier | Lake | Lewis and Clark | Lincoln | Missoula | Pondera | Powell | Sanders | Teton | British Columbia, Canada
- Columbia Falls
- Hungry Horse
- West Glacier
- Martin City
A small part of the Flathead Indian Reservation is in Flathead County. The major part of the reservation is in Lake County. Other small portions are also in Missoula and Sanders Counties.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Montana Cemeteries for more information.|
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Flathead County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
- See an interactive map of Flathead County cemeteries and modern-day townships. (Histopolis)
- 1917-1918 Montana, World War I Selective Service System draft registration cards, (1917-1918) Viewable
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Montana newspapers including Kalispell newspapers. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Flathead County, Montana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Flathead - Probate records.
County Clerk and Recorder has birth and death records from 1882, land records from 1884 and burial records from 1893; Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce and court records from 1893
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Flathead Valley Genealogical Society
1380 Whitefish Stage Rd
Programs for 2015 Begin at 7:00 PM
FVGS Society Meetings Begin at 6:30 PM
Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.
- 1840–2004 Montana, County Births and Deaths, 1840-2004 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1967 Flathead County juvenile statistics for ages 12-20, inc. information applicable, Oct 1, 1967 Includes names and birth dates.
- 1889-1904 Western States Marriage Index includes marriages 1889-1904
- 1893-1949 Marriage records, 1893-1949 Viewable
- 1896-1968 Marriage records, 1896-1968 Viewable
- Genealogy-Flathead County Montana Genealogy and Family History Resources
- Genealogy Inc Flathead County, Montana
- Montana Genealogy Flathead County, Montana
- LinkPendium Flathead County, Montana
- USGenWeb Flathead County, Montana project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 416.