Flint, Flintshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Flint, Flintshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshireGotoarrow.pngFlint

A guide to genealogy in Flint, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Flint (Welsh: Fflint) is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Flintshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the town was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Flintshire.

History

In 1831: "Flint, the nominal county town of the Shire of that name .... is beautifully situated on the estuary of the Dee, about 5 miles E.S.E. of Holywell (opposite Parkgate) and is 203 miles distant from London. It was formerly a place of considerable importance, on account of its maritime situation and its extensive fortress." [From Gleanings of the histories of Holywell, Flint, St. Asaph and Rhuddlan, J. Poole, 1831]

For more information on Flint see: Genuki - Flint

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Flintshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464323.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites