Floyd County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Floyd County, Iowa)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Floyd County

Guide to Floyd County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Floyd County, Iowa
Map of Iowa highlighting Floyd County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Founded January 15, 1851
County Seat Charles City
Address Floyd County Courthouse
101 S. Main St.
Charles City, IA 50616-2756
Phone: (515) 228-7111

County Information

Floyd County, Iowa Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880 1880 1880 1840 1855 1880?

County Courthouse

Floyd County Courthouse
101 S. Main St.
Charles City, IA 50616-2756

(515) 228-7111


Parent County

1851--Floyd County was created 15 January 1851 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Fayette and  Chickasaw Counties prior to organization 4 September 1854. County seat:  Charles City [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1874 Courthouse burned and some records were lost.
1881 Courthouse was destroyed by fire and almost all county records were lost.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bremer • Butler • Cerro Gordo • Chickasaw • Franklin • Howard • Mitchell

Floyd CountyChickasaw CountyBremer CountyButler CountyFranklin CountyCerro Gordo CountyWorth CountyMitchell CountyHoward CountyWinneshiek CountyFayette CountyBuchanan CountyBlack Hawk CountyGrundy CountyHardin CountyHamilton CountyWright CountyHancock CountyWinnebago CountyFreeborn CountyMower CountyFillmore CountyIAFloyd.JPG



Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.


State Census


Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Floyd County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.

  • Webster, Clement L. History of Floyd County, Iowa. Charles City, Iowa : Intelligencer Print, c1897.
  • History of Floyd County, Iowa : its people, industries and institutions with biographical sketches of representative citizens and genealogical records of many of the old families. Indianapolis, Indiana : B.F. Bowen, 1917.
  • History of Floyd County, Iowa : together with sketches of its cities, portraits of prominent persons, and biographies of representative citizens, history of Iowa. Chicago : Inter-state Pub. Co., 1882.



Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Floyd County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Floyd County, Iowa Genealogy:

- 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
- 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G


Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives
  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
  • The Nashua Reporter. 1953-1960, 1963-1965, 1968-1976 Nashua, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Marble Rock Journal. 1911-1931 Marble Rock, Iowa, United States Of America. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)


Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Floyd - Probate records.


Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.


Societies and Libaries

Floyd County Historical Society & Museum
500 Gilbert Street
Charles City, Iowa 50616

Marble Rock Historical Society
313 Bradford Street
Marble Rock, Iowa 50653
E-mail: handley5255@gmail.com

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Floyd County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "floyd county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "floyd county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "floyd county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Floyd County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Floyd County IA at LDS Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Floyd County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Floyd County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Floyd County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Floyd County Message Board


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 225-231. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).