Foremark, Derbyshire Genealogy
|England Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Foremark, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Saviour Foremark Derbyshire
|Hundred||Repton and Gresley|
|Poor Law Union||Burton upon Trent|
|Registration District||Burton upon Trent|
|Parish registers: 1662|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Rural Deanery||Stanton by Bridge|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
FOREMARK (St. Saviour), a parish, in the union of Burton-upon-Trent, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 7 miles (S. S. W.) from Derby with the township of Ingleby. The old church, which was an appendage to the priory of Repton, stood in the hamlet of Ingleby, on the bank of the Trent, about one mile to the east. In the parish is a singular rocky bank, the centre of which, presenting the appearance of an edifice in ruins, tradition asserts to have been the residence of an anchorite, whence it has derived the name of Anchor Church. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District . http://www.staffordshirebmd.org.uk/cgi/birthind.cgi?county=staffordshire The registration district prior to 1937 included this parish. From 1937 onwards the Repton district was responsible. Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Foremark parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Foremark St Saviour (1662) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1662-1909
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Formark on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), pp. 250-253. Date accessed: 22 April 2013