Forsbrook, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Forsbrook, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Cheadle|
|Registration District||Cheadle; Stone|
|Parish registers: 1849|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
FORSBROOK, a township, in the parish of Dilhorne, union of Cheadle, N. division of the hundred of Totmonslow and of the county of Stafford, 2¾ miles (W. S. W.) from Cheadle.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Please see Staffordshire BMD
Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1849-1970 Mar 1849-1973 Bur 1850-2005
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1849-1866 Mar None Bur 1850-1866
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474629.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 253-255. Date accessed: 25 October 2012.