Fort Independence Indian Community of Paiute Indians, California

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png California Gotoarrow.png Indians of California Gotoarrow.png Fort Independence Indian Community of Paiute Indians, California

Guide to Paiute Indian and Shoshone Indian ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

The Fort Independence Reservation is a federally-recognized reservation located in Inyo County, California.

Established -- July 4, 1862 abandoned. re established 1915 and 1916
Agency (BIA) -- Central California Agency
Principal tribes -- Paiute
Population -- 1969: Tribal enrollment 62 [1]

Tribal Headquarters

Fort Independence Indian Community of Paiute Indians
P.O. Box 67
Independence, CA 93526
Phone: 1.760.878.2126
Fax: 1.760.878.2311

Website: www.fortindependence.com  

History

Brief Timeline

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Land Records

Total acres 356, Tribally-owned 234 acres, Allotted land 122 acres

Reservations

This Band of the Paiute Indians is primarily associated with the Fort Independence Reservation in California.

Websites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References

  1. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2