Fort Mojave Indian Tribe of Arizona, California and Nevada

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Arizona Gotoarrow.png California Gotoarrow.png Nevada Gotoarrow.png Indians of Arizona Gotoarrow.png Indians of California Gotoarrow.png Indians of Nevada Gotoarrow.png Fort Mojave Indian Tribe of Arizona, California and Nevada

Guide to Mohave people ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Mohave (Mojave) woman carring water-Edward S Curtis Collection.jpg

The Fort Mojave Indian Reservation is a federally-recognized reservation, located in western Arizona, on the Colorado River, just south of Bullhead City, Arizona.

Tribal Headquarters

Fort Mojave Indian Tribe
500 Merriman Avenue

AI ORP.png
Needles, CA 92363
Phone: 1.760.629.4591
Fax: 1.760.629.5767

The Fort Mojave Indian Reservation is an Indian reservation along the Colorado River, currently encompassing 23,669 acres (96 km²) in Arizona, 12,633 acres (51 km²) in California, and 5,582 acres (23 km²) in Nevada.

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Mohave people
The reservation was originally established in 1870 and is now home to approximately 1,100 members of the Mohave Tribe.[1]

Agency (BIA) --Colorado River Indian Agency, Bureau of Indian Affairs

Principal tribes -- Mojave

History

Brief Timeline

Records

Agency Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Fort Mojave, 1892-1915 Census Rolls FHL film 576839

Land Records

Total acres 38,384 [2]

Reservations

See Fort Mojave Indian Tribe, Arizona (Reservation)

For Further Reading

See also American Indian For Further Reading.

  • Fort Mojave Indian Tribe. Constitution and Bylaws of the Fort Mojave Tribe of the Fort Mojave Reservation, Arizona, Nevada, and California. S.l: s.n.], 1957. WorldCat 22102903
  • Fort Mojave Indian Tribe. Fort Mojave Indian Reservation. Needles, Calif: Fort Mojave Tribe, 1970. WorldCat 367572573
  • Celebrating Change: The Fort Mojave Indian Tribe. Needles, CA: Fort Mojave Indian Tribe, 2001. WorldCat 51933736
  • Smith, Gerald Arthur. The Mojave Indians. [Bloomington, Calif.]: San Bernardino County Museum Association, 1977. WorldCat 4975527
  • American West Center. Doris Duke Oral History Project. 1966. WorldCat 447306117
  • Fort Mojave Indian Tribe Official Website
  • Fort Mojave Indian Reservation Wikipedia
  • Fort Mojave Indian Tribe Constitution. A copy of the Constitution and By-laws for this tribe is available at the Sandra Day O'Connor Law Library at Arizona State University

References

  1. Wikipedia: Fort Mojave Indian Reservation
  2. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2.