Foster County, North Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Foster County, North Dakota)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Dakota


Foster County


Guide to Foster County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Carrington
Organized: January 4, 1873
Parent County(s): Pembina [1]
Neighboring Counties
Eddy  • Griggs  • Stutsman  • Wells
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthDakotaFosterCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
North Dakota Foster Map.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

Organized on October 11, 1883 and named for either James S. Foster of Mitchell, SD or his brother George I. Foster of Fargo, ND. County Seat: Carrington.[2]

County Courthouse

Foster County Courthouse
1000 5th St North
PO Box 257
Carrington, ND 58421
Phone: 701.652.1001
Foster County Website
Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1900, marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1884, military and naturalization records from 1900.
Register of Deeds has land records[3].

Foster County, North Dakota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1900 1883 1900 1873 1873 1873 1880

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

1873--Foster County was created 4 January 1873 from Pembina County.
County seat: Carrington [1]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[4]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
  • Juanita
Townships
  • Birtsell
  • Bordulac
  • Bucephalia
  • Carrington
  • Eastman
  • Estabrook
  • Florance
  • Glenfield
  • Haven
  • Larrabee
  • Longview
  • McHenry
  • McKinnon
  • Melville
  • Nordmore
  • Rolling Prairie
  • Rose Hill
  • Wyard


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Adams County, North Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 37
1890 1,210 3170.3%
1900 3,770 211.6%
1910 5,313 40.9%
1920 6,108 15.0%
1930 6,353 4.0%
1940 5,824 −8.3%
1950 5,337 −8.4%
1960 5,361 0.4%
1970 4,832 −9.9%
1980 4,611 −4.6%
1990 3,983 −13.6%
2000 3,759 −5.6%
2010 3,343 −11.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for North Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.

Online Land Records

For more information see North Dakota Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories, including those of the county, are available for Foster County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War


Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers

For more information see North Dakota Newspapers.


North Dakota Newspapers Online

North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

North Dakota State University Archives
West Building 3551 7th Avenue
N Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing Address:
NDSU Archives
Libraries NDSU Dept #2080
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Phone: 701-231-8914
Fax: 701-231-5632
Email: ndsu.archives@ndsu.edu

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Putnam House
533 Main St.
Carrington, ND 58421
Phone: 701-652-1213 or 701-652-2090

Societies

Foster County Historical Society
756 Main Street
Carrington, ND 58421
Telephone: 701-652-1313

James River Genealogy Club
651 4th St.
Carrington, ND 58421
Telephone: 701-652-2587

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Foster County, Genealogy Trails
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Foster County, North Dakota. Page 523 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Foster County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Foster_County,_North_Dakota_Genealogy&oldid=2778500"