Fovant, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Fovant, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Fovant

Guide to Fovant, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fovant, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cawden and Cadworth
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Wilton
Registration District Wilton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1541
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chalke
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

FOVANT, or Foffont (St. George), a parish, in the union of Wilton, hundred of Cawden and Cadworth, Hindon and S. divisions of Wiltshire. It is 7 miles (W. by S.) from Wilton and adjacent to the Salisbury and Exeter railway, 2 miles SW by W of Dinton railway station.[1][2]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Fovant parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[7]
FOVANT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1609-1880
1609-1837

IGI 1609-1880
JOIN
1800-1837

NBI

1541-1837
NIM 1541-1840
1541-1837
1541-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464193.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 255-259. Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  5. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  7. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.