Foxearth, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Foxearth, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Foxearth


Guide to Foxearth, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Foxearth, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Sudbury
Registration District Sudbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1551
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hedingham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Foxearth, is a parish in the district of Sudbury and county of Essex; near the river Stour, and the boundary with Suffolk, it is 3 1/2 miles NW of Sudbury railway station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Foxearth, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Foxearth, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1707-1754


ESSEX
1551-1999
1707-1957
1705-1948
FREG 1551-1617




Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

The Foxearth and District Local History Society: Website dedicated to Local History

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Foxearth on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted,date accessed: 21 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.