Foxton, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Foxton, Cambridgeshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Foxton, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Foxton, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thriplow
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Royston
Registration District Royston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barton
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

FOXTON (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union or Royston, hundred of Thriplow, county of Cambridge, 6 miles (S. S. W.) from Cambridge. The church was erected about the year 1456.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Foxton, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Foxton, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1873 1599-1873
1599-1873

Parish registers for Foxton, 1678-1877 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for the parish church of Foxton, 1599-1873 at FHL. This microfilm has been digitised.

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241225.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Foxton on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 255-259. Date accessed and adapted: 03 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.
Return to Cambridgeshire Parishes