Fröjel Parish, Gotland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Fröjel parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Gotland County
Fröjel


Guide to Fröjel Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

Fröjel lies on the island of Gotland's west coast covering 37.4 square kilometers with a population in the 1880s of 634. The parish is actually an annex to Klinte parish. Because of the coastal location, many of the people were seamen. 

Somewhat hilly land is primarily covered with pine trees with occasional limestone outcroppings. There was a brickyard at Mulde.
Fröjel Parish, Gotland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län Gotland
Landskap Gotland
Härad Södra
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Länsmansdistrikt add here
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here


Place Names

Annexen Alstäde Ansarfve(Ansarve)
Bockes Bofride Bossarfwe(Bosarve) Bottarfve (Bottarve)
Deps (Däpps)
Gannarfve (Gannarve) Gustafs (Göstavs)
Hallgårds
Kaupe
Lilla Hejdes (Lilla Hajdes) Lilla Solbjerge (Lilla Solbjärge)
Mulde
Nymans
Prestgården (Annexen) Pusarfve (Puser)
Robsarfve (Robsarve) Rofwede, Rofvede (Rovide)
Sigdarfwe, Sigdarfve (Sigdarve) Stenstu (Stenstugu)
St.Hejdes (Stora Hajdes) St.Solbjerge (Stora Solbjärge)
Selle (Sälle)
Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes 
    Eksta  Gerum  Hejde  Klinte  Levide  Lojsta

Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Gotland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a family history center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Gotland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

  • First find the birth and baptism record of your ancestor. Once you know his date and place of birth and his parents' names, you can locate the family in the Household Examination Records.
  • Search every Household Examination Record that your ancestor appears on (from birth to death). You will pick up valuable clues along the way, find children who died young, and establish correct family member relationships.
  • All birth, marriage, or death dates found in Household Examination Records need to be verified in the actual birth, marriage, or death records.
  • Pay attention to relationship titles, occupations, military status, and remarks. See word list for Vocabulary for Household Examination Records.
  • Dates are written in the European order of day, month, and year.

See Sweden Research Strategies for locating various records in specific time periods.

References

Place names from husförhörsläng for Fröjel AI:3 (1837-1849)