Framingham Earl, Norfolk Genealogy
|Framingham Earl, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Henstead|
|Parish registers: 1721|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1691|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
FRAMINGHAM, EARL (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union and hundred of Henstead, E. division of Norfolk, 5 miles (S. E.) from Norwich. 
Framingham Earl St Andrew is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.
A Norman round tower church with 19th century renovation.
The writer W. G. (Winfried Georg) Maximilian Sebald (18 May 1944, Wertach im Allgäu – 14 December 2001) is buried here and lived locally before his death after a fatal heart attack whilst driving in Norwich.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Henstead 1837-1938 some early registration may be "Humbleyard & Henstead"
- Norwich Outer 1939-1974
Framingham Earl, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Framingham Earl, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 186/ 1-8, 60-62
This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:
| Baptisms 1726-1750, 1765, 1780-1811 Marriages 1732-1749, 1786-1811 Burials 1725-1750, 1765, 1780-1811
|| FHL BRITISH Film |
1526787 Item 8
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438862.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Framingham Earl on GenUKI
- for details of the Poringland group of churches and photographs
- W.G. Sebald, German writer and academic - burial in Framingham Earl on Wikipedia
- for photographs of the church
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 259-263 18 March 2013. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.